Winners of the Educate Awards announced!

Published on: Monday, 23-November-2015

Knowsley primary school Halewood C of E wins the coveted Most Inspirational Primary School award

On Friday 20 November, 500 guests gathered for the Educate Awards ceremony held at the Liverpool Anglican Cathedral.

The awards, sponsored by Connex Education, is now in its fourth year and celebrate the inspiring work that goes on inside and outside the school gates.Educate Awards 2015

Halewood C of E Primary School in Knowsley picked up one of the evenings most coveted awards, Most Inspirational Primary School.

The judges noted that the school, which earlier this year celebrated its inclusion in The Times list of top 200 best-performing schools in the country, is much more than a beacon of academic excellence and lives up to its motto of ‘Where children believe, achieve and succeed’. 

Cllr Gary See, Knowsley Council’s Cabinet Member for Children’s Services, said: “This is a thoroughly well-deserved award for Halewood C of E Primary, which is such a lovely school with very strong leadership, outstanding staff and a really positive, encouraging atmosphere. Anyone who visits the school is sure to feel inspired and it is fantastic that this award – which is the latest of many accolades for the school – recognises this. Well done everyone!”

Liverpool actor Neil Fitzmaurice hosted the ceremony, while guests were treated to special performances by schools shortlisted for the outstanding arts awards.

The Belvedere Academy Chamber Choir opened proceedings, while pupils from Holly Lodge Girls’ College performed a scene from its production of ‘Blowin a Gale’. Next, the talented Darci Shaw from The Belvedere Academy sang ‘Where is Love’ from its 2014/15 production of Oliver.

Lastly, Andrew Woolcock from Archbishop Temple School entertained guests on the marimba, playing ‘Land’ by Takatsuga Maramatsu.

On the night, 19 awards were handed out to schools in the Liverpool City Region, Lancashire and Cheshire. A great variety of projects and skills were represented, from entrepreneurial awareness, dazzling stage performances, creative literacy initiatives to inspiring community partnerships.  

Kim O’Brien, founder of the Educate Awards, says: “Every year the judges and I are blown away by the school’s entries and this year was no exception. It’s fantastic to award so many hard working schools and teachers who create such an engaging learning environment.

“Congratulations to all the winners and shortlisted schools, and thank you to each and every school that submitted an entry this year.”

The winners are chosen by a panel of judges which this year includes football icon Robbie Fowler; Radio City breakfast host Leanne Campbell; Olympian and managing director of Raise The Bar, Steve Smith; Councillor Gary Millar, Liverpool’s cabinet member for business, enterprise and investment; Chris Walker, regional managing editor of Trinity Mirror North West and North Wales; Lesley Martin-Wright, chief executive of Knowsley Chamber; Mark Beedles, managing director of Connex Education; Fiona Barnet, director of The Foundry Agency; Andrew Pimbley of Claremont Farm and Wirral’s Farm Feast; and the education team at the respected Everyman and Playhouse Theatres.

Associate sponsors at the awards include Adlib Solutions, Carillion plc, The Foundry Agency, Paul Crowley & Co, Greater Merseyside Learning Providers’ Federation, Liverpool Hope University, Vivark, Schools 4 Health, eCadets, The City of Liverpool College, MerseySTEM, National Citizen Service (NCS) and Liverpool John Moores University, Progress to Excellence, The Merseyside Network for Colloborative Outreach (MNCO), the Jamie Carragher Sports and Learning Academy, Myerscough College and E-voked workshops.

List of award winners

Most Inspirational Primary School

Winner: Halewood C of E Primary School
Runner up: Eldon Primary School

Most Inspirational Secondary School

Winner: Wellfield High School
Runner up: Clare Mount Specialist Sports College

Community Partnership Award

Winner: Gateacre School
Runner up: Bishop David Sheppard CE Primary

Outstanding Commitment to Sport in a Primary School

Winner: Saint Cecilia’s Catholic Junior School
Runner up:  Billinge St Aidan’s C of E Primary School

Outstanding Commitment to Sport in a Secondary School

Winner: St Margaret’s Church of England Academy
Runner up: Rainford High Technology College

Eco Project of the Year

Winner: Liverpool Life Sciences UTC
Runner up: Cowley International College

The Communication Award

Winner: Leamington Community Primary School
Runner up: Whitefield Primary School

Teacher of the Year

Winner: Peter Fearon, Bebington High Sports College
Runner up: Beth Harris, Archbishop Temple School

Spirit of Enterprise Award

Winner: Rainford C E Primary
Runner up: Birkdale High

Innovative and Creative Literacy Award

Winner: The District CE Primary School
Runner up: Whitefield Primary

SEND Provision Award

Winner: The Observatory School
Runner up: Springwood Heath Primary School

Science Project of the Year

Winner: Bishop David Sheppard CE Primary
Runner up: Liverpool Life Sciences UTC

Outstanding Arts in a Primary School

Winner: Netherton Moss Primary School
Runner up: Faith Primary School in partnership with In Harmony Liverpool

Outstanding Arts in a Secondary School

Winner: The Belvedere Academy
Runner up: Holly Lodge Girls’ College

Career Aspiration Award

Winner: Calderstones School
Runner up: Bebington High School Farm at Bebington High School Sports College

Outstanding Teaching of Life Skills

Winner: Archbishop Temple School
Runner up: North Liverpool Academy

Leadership Team of the Year

Winner: Bishop David Sheppard CE Primary School
Joint runner up: Formby High School and Kilgarth School

Innovation in Education Award

Winner: Flakefleet School
Runner up: Archbishop Blanch C E High School

WOW Recognition Award

Winner: Gateacre School
Runner up: Netherton Moss Primary School