Knowsley supports mums to breastfeed with a month of events

Published on: Thursday, 14-May-2015

Knowsley Public Health is holding a month of special events, providing mum’s in Knowsley with expert advice on breastfeeding.

Knowsley Breastfeeding support team, Bosom Buddies, support Knowsley women who are considering or who are breastfeeding. As part of the ongoing support the team have organised a range of events from 18 May to 14 June.  The events aim to make sure mums-to-be and new mums have all the information and facts about the benefits of breastfeeding for both mum and baby.

Mums-to-be and new mums will be able to chat with local mums who have breastfed their own babies who have experience of some of the thoughts and feeling that can be associated with breastfeeding for new mums. These mums have completed specialist training to become Breastfeeding Peer Supporters.

Breastfeeding Peer Supporters will be joined by children centre staff, health visitors and representatives from Home-Start, a voluntary organisation offering support to families with young children, at the events in supermarkets, hospitals, community centres and children’s centres across the borough.

As well as breastfeeding information and support there will be pregnancy yoga and baby massage taster sessions and in some venues activity packs and teddy bears picnics for children.

Matthew Ashton, Director of Public Health in Knowsley, said “It’s really important mums-to-be and new mums have the right information and facts about breastfeeding as there are many benefits for both mother and baby.

“We want to make sure that all mums in Knowsley who choose to breastfeed are able to access the support available to help them successfully breastfeed, particularly in those early days when mum and baby are both learning to breastfeed.”

Knowsley’s breastfeeding month events:

  • Monday 18 May, Oaktree Children’s Centre, 10am to 12pm
  • Wednesday 20 May, The Halewood Centre, 10am to 3pm
  • Thursday 21 May, Ormskirk Hospital, 10am to 3pm
  • Friday 22 May, Liverpool Women’s Hospital, 10am to 3pm
  • Tuesday 26 May, Southmead Children’s Centre, 10am to 12pm
  • Wednesday 27 May, Tesco, Cables Retail Park, Prescot, 10am to 3pm
  • Thursday 28 May, Whiston Primary Care Resource Centre, 10am to 3pm
  • Friday 29 May, Whiston Hospital, 10am to 3pm
  • Monday 1 June, Hilltop Children’s Centre, 10am to 12pm
  • Tuesday 2 June, Manor Farm Primary Care Resource Centre, 10am to 3pm
  • Wednesday 3 June, Stockbridge Children’s Centre, 9.30am to 11.30am
  • Wednesday 3 June, HomeStart Knowsley, 55 Rupert Road, Huyton, 1pm to 4pm
  • Thursday 4 June, North Huyton Primary Care Resource Centre, 10am to 3pm
  • Thursday 4 June, Jubilee Children’s Centre, 1.30pm to 3pm
  • Friday 5 June, Asda, Huyton, 10am to 3pm
  • Monday 8 June, Towerhill Primary Care Resource Centre, 10am to 3pm
  • Tuesday 9 June, The St Chad’s Centre, 10am to 3pm
  • Wednesday 10 June, Homestart Northwood, Gilescroft Ave, Kirkby, 1pm to 4pm
  • Thursday 11 June, The Pride Children’s Centre, 1pm to 3pm
  • Friday 12 June, Kirkby Market, 9am to 4pm